Skip to content

KBOO Cancels Mitakuye Oyasin Radio Show In Portland OR USA

September 13, 2010

The hosts of a radio show called “Mitakuye Oyasin” in Portland, Oregon got a notice from the manager that the show is being canceled on a pretext that the previous host claimed the name of the show to be a trademark, which is not true and will rise lots of objections if there is such an attempt.

Here is the link to the site of the radio station hosting the show
http://kboo.fm/MitakuyeOyasin.

This show is going to be the second indian show closed for some unclear reasons.

The show is really very interesting, it brings up many important issues and gives lots of food for thought.

I would be ever so grateful if you can leave a comment in support to the show for the radio station board here http://www.kboo.fm/contact .

You can also leave an open comment right here.
http://kboo.fm/node/23691#comment-2826

(1.) I’ve heard that the show Mitakuye Oyasin is going to be canceled. I hope that is not true, because i’ve been listening to that for a few months and love it! Atevs, Moscow, Russia

(2.) Is that true that the show “Mitakuye Oyasin” is going to be closed? I hope this is not true! It just cannot be so! I’ve been listening to it for a few months and it is great! I love the show, and the subjects are always so interesting. Svetlana Sevli, Russia, Komi republic, Vorkuta

(3.) I’m from your audience from Moscow, Russia, and I’m a big fan of the show Mitakuye Oyasin. Recently I heard that the show is going to be shut down, and I do hope it is not so. The show is just great! I’ve been listening to it with my friends for a while, and we hope to continue to listen to it.  ~Elena Pernei, Moscow, Russia

(4.) Is that true that the show is going to be cancelled? Just cannot believe it! It has been one of my favourites for a several months. I’ve been sharing the subjects brought up in the show with my friends, and we all find it extremely interesting! I hope that the show will go on, it must go on. ~Maya Usova, Armavir, Russia

(5.) I was told that the show Mitakuye Oyasin is canceled due to some strange reasons, and I want to speak in the support of the show and its hosts. This show is just wonderful! I used to begin my Thursday morning with it, it gives me new ideas and thoughts. I just want it back.
Anna, Moscow, Russia

(6.) It was brought to our attention that the show Mitakuye Oyasin our family has been big fans of is going to be canceled. The show and the hosts are just great. We were recommended this show to practice our listening in English, but soon we discovered that there were much more than that.This show is absolutely exceptional, and such a show just must go on!
Alyona and Denis Lisanov, Moscow, Russia

(7.) I would like to speak on the behalf of the show Mitakuye Oyasin which is said to be canceled on some strange pretext. I’ve been the follower of the show for half a year and grew to become a great fan of it. The show is unlike many others, and rises the issues that I heard of only there. I’m sure that the show is extremely benefetting all over the world as well as your community in Portland, Oregon, USA. ~Alexander Caksi, Smolensk region, Russia

(8.) We are your audience from Moscow, Smolensk, Vorkuta, Armavir Russia, Kishinev, Moldavia, and Riga, Latvia. We’ve been following one of your evening radio shows Mitakuye Oyasin for about a year now, regardless of the time or language differences. As a matter fact it has been recommended and adopted by our English learning students who have found it not only helpful for learning a language, but quite enjoyable, exciting and insightful into indigenous cultures from the other hemisphere, with traditional songs and stories.

With regards to such a program we have learned to understand the true meaning of being “we are all related” and could draw attention of the people from this part of the world to the problems of your people.

In our understanding the “Mitakuye Oyasin” show is a collective representation of all North American indigenous nations, all peoples, not to exclude the host and guest of the show.

It has now been brought to our attention by inquiry that the Mitakuye Oyasin show has been canceled due to inadequate, despot, if not fascist, management. As far as we are concerned, the show is popular and has audience not only in three of our countries, but include broadcasting to Germany, Spain, Italy and Ireland and many others also.

Thus, the show being so popular not only in Portland, Oregon, USA, we can conclude that it was not a matter of its profitability or lack of popularity with the audience. It is our opinion, and  it is a shame that a good and interesting show can be closed on some uncertain reasons, and all that is happening in the country that claims to be the nurturing cradle of democracy and justice.

Respectfully,

Larisa Ivanova, Riga, Latvia
Olga Chernokova, Moscow, Russia
Alexander Yazitchenkov, Smolensk, Russia
Alexander Krylov, Smolensk, Russia
Maya Usova, Armavir, Russia
Svetlana Sevli, Vorkuta, rebublic of Komi, Russia
Lada Budnikova, Moscow, Russia
Octavian Pernei, Kishinev, Moldavia
Svetlana Minakhina, Moscow, Russia
Evguenia Semenova, Moscow, Russia

All e-mail addresses have been excluded for privacy.

Here are some supporting websites where the information on possible cancelling the show were posted

http://my.mail.ru/community/mitakuye_oyasin/286269A39CF32F8F.html

http://my.mail.ru/community/lakotah/4AEC42CC8D713485.html

http://lakotah-russian.narod.ru/news.htm

No comments yet

Leave a comment